10 things you should know about me before Influence

8 Oct

Later this week, I’ll be hopping a plane (or two) to Indianapolis for the Influence Conference. While I’ve made wonderful online friends from this biz, this will be the first time I’ve met any of them in person. Plus, oh, 200 other gals. Many of whom I’ve admired from afar and wished I could be like. I’ll be sharing a hotel room with three other women who also wish to make much of Him in their blogs and businesses. Since none of my roomies (or anyone else) at the conference has ever met met me, I thought I’d share a few things you should know about me.

1. I don’t drink coffee. I wish I did. I love the smell of good coffee, but I’ve never gotten used to the taste. Put a chai tea latte in front of me, though, and it’ll be gone soon.

2. If you ask me where I’m from, I’m likely to look uncomfortable and say “good question.” I currently live in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Been here since July. Before that, four years in Jersey City, NJ (working in Manhattan). Before that, Philadelphia. Before that, the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Before that, tiny town in Delaware. Before that, I spent my first 22 years on earth growing up just outside Atlanta. And no, I’m not an army brat. My husband and I have just moved a lot trying to find “home.” This is our eighth apartment (ok, it’s actually a house this time) in 8.5 years of marriage.

3. I’m a Mac.

4. I’m a grammar nerd. I’ve been correcting people’s grammar since fourth grade, when I stood next to the teacher on the playground and made the other kids say “may I please use the restroom” instead of “can I go to the bathroom.” Seriously. Not even kidding.

5. I’m a fan of anything hand-written. (Which is good, since I make greeting cards, right?) Therefore, you will see me taking notes at the conference with a pen and paper. (Also, my laptop won’t hold a charge.)

6. I’m pretty quiet.

chick-fil-a #1 combo

7. My favorite food is a No. 1 combo from Chick-fil-a. There is one a mile away from the conference hotel. You’re welcome.

8. I don’t have kids and I’m not sure if I want them or not. My friend/roomie Amanda shared some of her fears about the conference recently. If I’m being totally honest, this is one of mine: being surrounded for three days by 200 women who have/want kids. I’m sure it will be totally fine, but yeah. Just putting that out there.

me

{necklace from Along for the Ride}

9. I take inordinately long showers. I don’t know why. I just can’t move faster. Sorry, roomies.

10. My whole business is built around the color red (maybe I should explain why sometime), but actually my favorite color is green.

So there you have it. Now we’re besties. See you at Influence!

5 Responses to “10 things you should know about me before Influence”

  1. Khady October 8, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Number 4!! Too funny.

    I hadn’t realized you guys are in a house now. Very exciting. We might, you know, one day…

    #11: There is an AWESOME photo of Steph as a youngun’ with her sister and a laundry basket. She should totally post it on here.

  2. Kristen October 8, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    #7!!!!! With sweet tea. We live so far away from a Chik-Fil-A that we stop at one on both our drive to and from Florida every year. And sometimes get it at the mall there, too.

    #8- I always say, if you think you don’t want them, then that’s great to know because they absolutely change your whole life and your whole way of doing things. We knew we wanted them, but I taught with a woman who had too much else going on, and she was perfectly happy. You do whatever is best for you!

  3. Amanda {at} Royal Daughter Designs October 8, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Can’t wait to see you! I’m scared of being surrounded by pregnant ladies. :( We’ll hang out and I promise not to talk about how much I want kids!

    And Mr. E. takes incredibly long showers, so I’ve learned to move quickly. :)

  4. Rebecca Rejoices (@RebeccaRejoices) October 9, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    Great post! I live so close to a Chick-Fil-A that I could walk to it…and SHOTGUN! I call the shower first! ;-)

  5. Julie S. October 12, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    SO glad I got to meet you this weekend! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

